Why Do I Write?

When I first saw this topic for the Facebook Writing Challenge, my first thought was, “because I might get hungry if I didn’t.” And I don’t mean creatively starved or passionless. I mean hungry. Like for pizza or chicken noodle soup.

I have really wonderful clients who allow me to be their copywriter, and I help them shape their words, thoughts, ideas and content into something their audiences will (hopefully) read. It’s something I always wanted to do and something I really do love to do. I feel grateful every day that it keeps me from getting hungry, that it does feed me creatively, that I have a passion for it, and that I get to spend my hours doing it. It’s fun. Most days.

You’ve caught me on a day when the answer to “Why Do I Write?” is “I. Don’t. Know.” Because some days, well, some days… Lately I’ve been working on a project that is really stretching me as a copywriter, or a whatever. That’s great, you say. It’s good to be challenged, you say. Yes, it is. On the other hand, there’s nothing wrong with knowing where your sweet spot is. And this doesn’t (yet) feel like my sweet spot. As a matter of fact, this particular spot, particularly today, is in no way sweet.

On an earlier topic in this challenge, I talked about determination. That’s where I am. Determined to get it right. Determined to find something that works for everyone involved. But that’s not a satisfactory answer, at least to me, to “Why Do I Write.” Because I am determined?! Nothing as noble, heady or creative as one might imagine an answer to that question should be, and certainly not any fun.

“Why Do I Write?” Can I get back to you on that?

Leave a Reply

